Don’t Miss the Meaning 

Christmas is three short days away and quite frankly, I’m having a hard time catching my breath in all the hustle and bustle of the season. I know I’m not alone in this feeling; in fact if you’re feeling rested at this time of the year, you might be among the minority.

I did want to pause and share an experience that I had the other day, that wrecked me in the best way possible. It caused me to take a major step back.

I was working at a seasonal part-time job that I’ve recently taken on for a few extra dollars, when a young man approached me (probably in his early-mid 20’s). Within five minutes of talking to him, I knew his entire life story, or at least it felt that way. He had mentioned hating the holidays, which had taken me aback some. He told me that his mother passed in the last year and due to her passing, he’d lost touch with a lot of his family. He remarked that Christmas really wasn’t anything without family, especially “the one person who loved him unconditionally.” Holding back tears, I told him I was so sorry and I understood why this time of the year was especially hard for him. He went on to say that he didn’t have the best relationship with his mom and she oftentimes would call him at work too frequently. However now, he’d do anything to have her call one more time.

I’m not sharing this to be a buzzkill or a Debbie Downer as they call it. Rather, I’m sharing as a simple reminder of what this season is all about: the heartbeats in the room and the One who gave us all life in the first place (Jesus Christ). Not the presents under the tree (they’re just a nice addition ☺️), or the amount of Christmas parties you got invited to, or sending the cutest Christmas card. All of those are great and just extra perks to this magical season!

All I’m saying, is don’t get too stressed to be blessed #seriouslythough. Stop in this busy season + look. Listen to those around you. Put down your phone (I humbly admit I need to work on this). Take time to fully engage with and love on your family + friends. I know I’m endlessly grateful for those people in my life, and I don’t want the stressors of this season to overshadow that. Just some food for thought on this Tuesday. //

Merry Christmas!

xo,

J

2 thoughts on “Don’t Miss the Meaning 

    • You are an amazing woman with a gifted insight on your experiences. Young girls would be so blessed to have you as a mentor (just a thought). I am so proud of you Jess. You have grown into a beautiful Godly woman. I pray Gods abundant blessings on your life.

      Tina G.

      Like

Leave a comment